Netflix
Can I show a Netflix movie in my class? Generally, no.
Netflix's terms of service, like those of most streaming services (Amazon Prime, Disney+, Hulu), restrict content for personal, non-commercial use. This means institutional or educational use isn't covered.
Exceptions: Some Netflix original documentaries have a special permission for educational screenings. See Educational Screening Permission tab for more information.
Here's more information...
While copyright law allows for exemptions in educational settings, like showing clips under fair use (Section 107) or using your own DVDs (Section 110), these exemptions can be overridden by the specific licenses streaming services have with copyright holders. These licenses might restrict educational use even though copyright law itself allows it.
This creates a situation where streaming a movie from your personal Netflix account in class becomes problematic. Your personal account is for non-commercial purposes, and a classroom setting falls outside that scope.
That's why libraries offer to obtain streaming videos through institutional subscription vendors like Alexander Street Press, Kanopy, Films on Demand, or Docuseek. These vendors have licenses specifically designed for educational use, ensuring you can legally show content that enriches your lessons.
Amazon Prime Video Terms of Use
source: James E. Tobin Library Libguides by Tabitha Ochtera.
Educational screenings of documentaries
Some Netflix original educational documentaries are available for one-time educational screenings.
To find out which titles are available for educational screenings, visit media.netflix.com and search for the title or browse our recent and upcoming releases.
Titles that are available for educational screening will display either the following Grant of Permission or an Educational Screenings Permission (ESP) on their details page:
Grant of Permission for Educational Screenings
Netflix is proud to present original programming that speaks to our users in a meaningful way. We know that many of you are as excited about these films and series as we are, and because of their informational aspects, you’d like to show them in an educational setting -- e.g., in the classroom, at the next meeting of your community group, with your book club, etc. Consequently, we will permit one-time educational screenings of any of the titles noted with this information, on the following terms:
The film or series may only be accessed via the Netflix service, by a Netflix account holder. We don’t sell DVDs, nor can we provide other ways for you to exhibit the film.
The screening must be non-profit and non-commercial. That means you can’t charge admission, or solicit donations, or accept advertising or commercial sponsorships in connection with the screening.
Please don’t use Netflix’s logos in any promotion for the screening, or do anything else that indicates that the screening is “official” or endorsed by Netflix.
"One-time screening" means that you can't hold screenings several times in one day or one week - but if, for example, you're an educator who wants to show these films or series once a semester over multiple semesters, that's okay.
We trust our users to respect these guidelines, which are intended to help you share and discuss our content in your community.
To show educational documentaries in your classroom:
- You'll need a personal Netflix account.
- Before showing any film, double-check the details page to confirm the "Grant of Permission for Educational Screening" still applies.
- Films added after 2021 will have a link that says "Before screening this title, read the Educational Screening Permission (ESP)." Be sure to review the ESP.
Netflix offers a selection of educational documentaries on YouTube, providing instructors with engaging resources to enrich their online classes.
Netflix Original Documentaries with Educational Screening Permission (ESP)
As of 5/1/2024 the following titles are available for a one-time educational screening.
NEW - Is That Black Enough for You?
NEW - Murdaugh Murders: A Southern Scandal
NEW - Poisoned: The Dirty Truth About Your Food
NEW - Stamped from the Beginning
NEW - Turning Point: The Bomb and the Cold War
NEW - The Volcano: Rescue from Whakaari
Media Streaming Databases
Video and Streaming Media
The Library provides access to thousands of films, including documentaries, feature films, and instructional videos. Don't see the video you need? Contact reserve@csusm.edu.
| Database | Full-Text | Coverage | Scholarly |
|---|---|---|---|
|
Films on Demand is a web-based digital video delivery platform that allows a user to view streaming videos from Films Media Group anytime, anywhere, 24/7! Thousands of videos are available for in-class use and remote viewing from the library, in the dorm, or at home. Our high-quality streaming videos can be accessed by librarians, faculty, and students through online card catalogs, learning management systems, and distance learning courses. And special features built into the Films Demand platform allow users the ability to organize and bookmark clips, share playlists, store quick links to favorite videos, and manage their entire collection through an administrative reporting system. |
Full-text | current | Some |
|
Kanopy Video Library provides streaming on-demand access to thousands of documentaries, feature and independent films, and training videos. Licensing partners include Criterion Collection, Universal Paramount, The Great Courses, New Day Films, California Newsreel, PBS, First Run Features, Media Education Foundation, Documentary Educational Resources, and others. Kanopy videos can be viewed on a range of devices and platforms including Apple, Android, and Windows. Titles are added by instructor request. Don't see the video you need? Contact reserve@csusm.edu. |
Full-text | current | |
|
Docuseek is a streaming video provider of documentaries and films. CSUSM doesn't have access to all Docuseek films, but you can view licensed content by selecting Browse and check the box for "Show only licensed films" in the right panel. CSUSM provides access to Docuseek titles by instructor request. Contact reserve@csusm.edu if you don't see the title you need. |
Full-text | current | |
|
Alexander Street Press provides streaming access to documentaries and films. Titles are added by instructor request. Don't see the video you need? Contact reserve@csusm.edu. |
Full-text | current |
Media Streaming Troubleshooting
Playback Issues:
If you are experiencing buffering on a video, or if a film is not playing, follow the troubleshooting tips below:
- Check your internet speed - make sure it is not lower than the recommended speed of 6-10Mbps
- Update your current internet browser or try a different internet browser and/or try your internet browser in incognito or private mode
- Clear your internet browser's cache and cookies
- Ensure that any firewall or security software you use is not blocking the database you are trying to access
- Restart your device
Viewing Requirements:
For the best viewing experience, make sure your computer or mobile device meets the requirements listed below:
| Computer or Mobile Device | Requirements |
|---|---|
| Microsoft Windows |
|
| Apple Mac OS |
|
| iPad/iPhone |
|
| Android |
|
For more information on Mediasite troubleshooting, please visit Troubleshooting Playback Issues and/or Mediasite Player Requirements and Considerations.
Known Errors and Solutions:
"Bad Request - Request Too Long" Error (exclusive to Google Chrome)
- Try using a different internet browser and/or clear the cache and cookies in your Chrome browser, making sure to completely close all browser windows and tabs after doing so. To clear your Chrome cookies & cache, click on the three vertical dots at the top right of the browser & then go to settings.
- From the settings page, click on Security and Privacy on the left-hand side of the page. You should then see an option that says clear browsing data.
Playback Issues:
If you are experiencing buffering on a video, or if a film is not playing, follow the troubleshooting tips below:
- Check your internet speed - it is recommended to have an internet speed of at least 5Mbps for an HD stream
- Update your internet browser or try a different internet browser
- Clear your internet browser's cache and cookies
- Ensure that any firewall or security software you use is not blocking the database you are trying to access
- Restart your device
Viewing Requirements:
| Computer or Mobile Device | Requirements |
|---|---|
| Microsoft Windows |
|
| Apple Mac OS |
|
| Mobile Devices |
|
For more information, please visit Kanopy's Technical Help webpage.
Playback Issues:
If you are experiencing buffering on a video, or if a film is not playing, follow the troubleshooting tips below:
- Check your internet speed - it is recommended to have an internet speed of at least 200kpbs
- Update your internet browser or try a different internet browser
- Clear your internet browser's cache and cookies
- Ensure that any firewall or security software you use is not blocking the database you are trying to access
- Restart your device
- Enable JavaScript
Viewing Requirements:
| Computer or Mobile Device | Requirements |
|---|---|
| Microsoft Windows |
|
| Apple Mac OS |
|
| Mobile Devices |
|
Playback Issues:
If you are experiencing buffering on a video, or if a film is not playing, follow the troubleshooting tips below:
- Check your internet speed
- Update your internet browser or try a different internet browser - Firefox is recommended
- Clear your internet browser's cache and cookies
- Ensure that any firewall or security software you use is not blocking the database you are trying to access
- Restart your device
Viewing Requirements:
| Computer or Mobile Device | Requirements |
|---|---|
| Laptops and Desktops |
|
| Mobile Devices and Tablets |
|
For more information, please visit Docuseek's FAQ wiki.
Playback Issues:
If you are experiencing buffering on a video, or if a film is not playing, follow the troubleshooting tips below:
- Check your internet speed
- Update your internet browser or try a different internet browser
- Clear your internet browser's cache and cookies - ensure cookies are enabled
- Ensure that any firewall or security software you use is not blocking the database you are trying to access
- Restart your device
Viewing Requirements:
| Computer or Mobile Device | Requirements |
|---|---|
| Microsoft Windows |
|
| Mac OS |
|
| Mobile Devices |
|